The whole lie
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Published:
New York : Minotaur Books, 2012.
Format:
Book
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Desc:
312 pages ; 22 cm.
Status:
EPL Fiction
F ULFELDER
Description

Praise for The Whole Lie

"The Massachusetts gubernatorial race forms the backdrop for Ulfelder's excellent sequel to his Edgar-finalist debut, Purgatory Chasm... Readers will want to see more of Ulfelder's tough but vulnerable lead, whose narration offers a warts-and-all view of his multifaceted character." - Publishers Weekly , starred review

Savvy hadn't changed. She was smarter than you and didn't mind letting you know it. She'd whip you up and down trying to get her way. But we weren't lovers any more--and she'd stopped being a Barnburner long ago. Still...

Conway Sax, the no-nonsense auto mechanic with a knack for solving difficult problems for the Barnburners, the renegade AA group who saved his life, is back in The Whole Lie . And for once, he thinks normalcy is within reach. He's opening a new garage, and he's finally moved in with longtime girlfriend Charlene. The end of his parole is finally in sight. Then along comes Savannah Kane: smart, smoky, and a pusher of men's buttons. Seven years ago, Conway helped her disappear--but not before they had a sizzling, knock-down-drag-out affair. Now she's back with a shocking revelation: she's the mother of a six-year-old boy. Savvy claims her son's father is billionaire Bert Saginaw, but Conway (not to mention Charlene) knows she's back for more than just a family reunion.

Saginaw wants to be Lieutenant Governor of Massachusetts. Savvy wants to get paid. Conway wants nothing to do with either of them. But when Savvy turns up brutally murdered, he's got no choice but to sort lies from truth - even though doing so may cost him his freedom, his lover, and his life in this thrilling and heart-wrenching follow-up to critically acclaimed novel Purgatory Chasm , in the tradition of Robert B. Parker and Dennis Lehane.

Praise for Steve Ulfelder and Purgatory Chasm

"Ulfelder smoothly steers his plot from one hairpin twist to the next... Conway [is] both tough and vulnerable, a man who has made too many mistakes in his life and, unfortunately, will make even more. Purgatory Chasm is a superb beginning for an author who shows much promise." - South Florida Sun-Sentinel

"A refreshing new character solving hardcore crimes.... crisp plotting, hard-boiled style and realistic dialogue." --Associated Press

"Combines elements of the thriller with tales of tangled families. Violence runs through the novel, but Ulfelder tempers it with compassion -- and evocative prose. Purgatory Chasm may be hardboiled, but it's heart-wrenching, too." - Richmond Times-Dispatch

"Working throughout is the edgy, self-effacing voice of a flawed main character, a good guy with plenty of baggage who's just trying stay alive and to get it right this time." - The Boston Globe

"Ulfelder couples precise, evocative prose with an original private investigator in his compelling hard-boiled debut.... Ulfelder smoothly navigates the many plot twists, and effortlessly introduces wrinkles in his protagonist's backstory that enhance the character." - Publishers Weekly , starred review

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
EPL Fiction
F ULFELDER
On Shelf
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780312604547 :

Notes

General Note
"A Thomas Dunne book."
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Ulfelder, S. (2012). The whole lie. New York: Minotaur Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Ulfelder, Steve. 2012. The Whole Lie. New York: Minotaur Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Ulfelder, Steve, The Whole Lie. New York: Minotaur Books, 2012.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Ulfelder, Steve. The Whole Lie. New York: Minotaur Books, 2012. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
4ee27e55-7da4-ce35-7a61-0d14b3094462
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Mar 02, 2019 03:33:55 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time May 21, 2019 01:06:27 AM

MARC Record

LEADER01561pam a2200385 a 4500
003DLC
00520121120120600.0
008120223s2012    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2012005473
020 |a 9780312604547 : |c 24.99
040 |a DLC |b eng |c DLC
05000 |a PS3621.L435 |b W47 2012
08200 |a 813/.6 |2 23
1001 |a Ulfelder, Steve. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n2011002855.
24514 |a The whole lie / |c Steve Ulfelder.
250 |a 1st ed.
264 1 |a New York : |b Minotaur Books, |c 2012.
300 |a 312 pages ; |c 22 cm.
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier.
500 |a "A Thomas Dunne book."
650 0 |a Automobile mechanics |v Fiction. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2009116462.
650 0 |a Murder |x Investigation |v Fiction. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008107761.
655 7 |a Detective and mystery fiction. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026280.
907 |a .b37559151 |b ep |c - |d 121129 |e 190301
998 |a ep |b 121129 |c m |d a |e - |f eng |g nyu |h 4 |i 0
913 |a EPL 2012-12-01
914 |a \\\2012005473
948 |a MARCIVE COMP, Feb 28, 2018
948 |a MARCIVE August, 2017
948 |a MARCIVE extract Aug 5, 2017
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2019.02
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2017.08
989 |a F ULFELDER |d epf |b 31526090010437 |e 10-20-2015 10:21 |f  - - |g - |h 6 |i 1 |j 2 |k 121129 |l $24.99 |m  |n 10-29-2015 13:09 |o - |p 125 |q 125 |t 0 |x 0 |1 .i74994475