The orphan's tale
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(5)
4 star
 
(3)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Author:
Published:
[United States] : MIRA Books, 2017.
Format:
eBook
Content Description:
1 online resource
Status:
Available Online
Description
Look out for Pam's new book, The Lost Girls of Paris, a story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female spies during World War II. A New York Times bestseller! "Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " --Library Journal "Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion.... I read this novel in a headlong rush." --Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep... When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another--or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.
Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781460396421 (electronic bk.), 1460396421 (electronic bk.)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Description
hoopla Book Club Hub - Spotlight Selection! Visit theclub.hoopladigital.com for discussion guide, exclusive author interview, and more. A New York Times bestseller! A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another-or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Jenoff, P. (2017). The orphan's tale. [United States]: MIRA Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Jenoff, Pam. 2017. The Orphan's Tale. [United States]: MIRA Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Jenoff, Pam, The Orphan's Tale. [United States]: MIRA Books, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Jenoff, Pam. The Orphan's Tale. [United States]: MIRA Books, 2017. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
5720282f-ca54-3efb-ea0e-9170dcc556b5
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId12273426
titleThe Orphan's Tale
kindEBOOK
price2.34
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedJun 12, 2019 10:47:02 PM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeNov 29, 2019 02:23:04 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeDec 08, 2019 02:07:13 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03016nam a22004935a 4500
001MWT12273426
003MWT
00520190511024820.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008181207s2017    xxu    es     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9781460396421 (electronic bk.)
020 |a 1460396421 (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT12273426
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hqn_9781460396421_180.jpeg
037 |a 12273426|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a 813.6|2 22
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Jenoff, Pam,|e author.
24514|a The orphan's tale|h [electronic resource] /|c Pam Jenoff.
264 1|a [United States] :|b MIRA Books,|c 2017.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
520 |a hoopla Book Club Hub - Spotlight Selection! Visit theclub.hoopladigital.com for discussion guide, exclusive author interview, and more. A New York Times bestseller! A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another-or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Circus|v Fiction.
650 0|a Teenage mothers|v Fiction.
650 0|a Jews|z Germany|v Fiction.
650 0|a World War, 1939-1945|x Social aspects|v Fiction.
650 0|a Electronic books.
651 0|a France|x History|y German occupation, 1940-1945|v Fiction.
650 1|a Teenage mothers|x Fiction.
650 1|a Jews|z Germany|v Fiction.
650 1|a Circus|v Fiction.
655 7|a Historical fiction.|2 gsafd
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12273426|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hqn_9781460396421_180.jpeg