The violet hour

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Minotaur Books,
Pub. Date:
2009.
Edition:
1st ed.
Language:
English
Description
In Daniel Judson's powerful new thriller, Bridgehampton auto mechanic Caleb Rakowski gets paid under the table at his friend Eric Carver's auto repair shop and lives in an apartment above. He's good at his job, he's a hard worker, and he's making a decent living.But right now he's sheltering a pregnant friend who'll do anything to keep her abusive husband away from herself and her baby. Cal has sworn to protect her; that's the kind of guy he is, a true friend. Little does he know, though, the trouble destined to come down on them over the course of three days - Mischief Night, Halloween, and the Day of the Dead - when he learns the truth about Eric Carver and what he's been hiding all these years. And little does Cal know how those lies will force him to risk everything to save the people closest to him.Daniel Judson is a craftsman of modern noir, an incredibly talented writer in the vein of Ellroy or Chandler but with the Hamptons in all their glitz and stark shadows as his canvas.  Like his two previous Hamptons novels, The Water's Edge and The Darkest Place , The Violet Hour is tightly drawn, hauntingly atmospheric, and completely searing. 
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780312383572
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c32c401a-8a57-f0f9-f324-a5fca74fa777
Grouping Title violet hour
Grouping Author judson d daniel
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-03-30 01:54:49AM
Last Indexed 2019-05-25 08:44:55AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Judson, D. Daniel, 1962-
author_display Judson, D. Daniel
available_at_englewood Englewood Public Library
detailed_location_englewood EPL Fiction
display_description Caleb Rakowski works under the table at his friend Eric Carver's body shop in Bridgehampton and lives in an apartment above it. He's good at his job, makes a living. Right now he's sheltering a pregnant friend with an abusive husband; that's the kind of guy Cal is, a true friend. But little does he know the trouble headed their way over the course of three days--Mischief Night, Halloween, and The Day of the Dead--when he learns the truth about Eric and what he's been hiding all these years.
format_category_englewood Books
format_englewood Book
id c32c401a-8a57-f0f9-f324-a5fca74fa777
isbn 9780312383572
item_details ils:.b29190149|.i74809155|EPL Fiction|F JUDSON, DANIEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||epf||
itype_englewood Adult book
last_indexed 2019-05-25T14:44:55.536Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_englewood F JUDSON, DANIEL
owning_library_englewood Englewood Public Library
owning_location_englewood Englewood Public Library
primary_isbn 9780312383572
publishDate 2009
record_details ils:.b29190149|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Minotaur Books,|2009.|293 pages ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_englewood
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b29190149 .i74809155 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 48, 49, 50, 46, 47
subject_facet Detective and mystery fiction, Hamptons (N.Y.) -- Fiction, Thrillers (Fiction)
title_display The violet hour
title_full The violet hour / Daniel Judson
title_short The violet hour