The last day: wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2008.
Language:
English
Description
A riveting history of how the cataclysmic Lisbon earthquake shook the religious and intellectual foundations of Enlightenment Europe Along with the volcanic destruction of Pompeii and the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, the Lisbon quake of 1755 is one of the most destructive natural disasters ever recorded. After being jolted by a massive quake, Lisbon was then pounded by a succession of tidal waves, and finally reduced to ash by a fire that raged for five straight days. In The Last Day, Nicholas Shrady provides not only a vivid account of this horrific disaster but also a stimulating survey of the many shock waves it sent throughout Western civilization. When news of the quake spread, it inspired both a lurid fascination in the popular imagination of Europe and an intellectual debate about the natural world and Gods place in human affairs. Voltaire, Alexander Pope, Immanuel Kant, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau, among other eminent figures, took up the disaster as a sort of cause clbre and a vehicle to express Enlightenment ideas. More practically, the Lisbon quake led to the first concerted effort at disaster control, modern urban planning, and the birth of seismology. The Last Day is popular history writing at its best and will appeal to readers of Simon Winchesters Krakatoa and A Crack in the Edge of the World,
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780670018512
9781400126408
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 73e1b9d5-c387-ade0-899a-6317ce8fe828
Grouping Title last day wrath ruin and reason in the great lisbon earthquake of 1755
Grouping Author shrady nicholas
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-10 01:06:21AM
Last Indexed 2019-05-24 04:47:46AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Lawlor, Patrick G.
author Shrady, Nicholas.
author2-role Lawlor, Patrick G.|Narrator, hoopla digital.
author_display Shrady, Nicholas
available_at_englewood Englewood Public Library
detailed_location_englewood EPL Non-Fiction
display_description A riveting history of how the cataclysmic Lisbon earthquake shook the religious and intellectual foundations of Enlightenment Europe.Along with the volcanic destruction of Pompeii and the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, the Lisbon quake of 1755 is one of the most destructive natural disasters ever recorded. After being jolted by a massive quake, Lisbon was then pounded by a succession of tidal waves and finally reduced to ash by a fire that raged for five straight days. In The Last Day, Nicholas Shrady provides not only a vivid account of this horrific disaster but also a stimulating survey of the many shock waves it sent throughout Western civilization. When news of the quake spread, it inspired both a lurid fascination in the popular imagination of Europe and an intellectual debate about the natural world and God's place in human affairs. Voltaire, Alexander Pope, Immanuel Kant, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau, among other eminent figures, took up the disaster as a sort of cause cľb̈re and a vehicle to express Enlightenment ideas. More practically, the Lisbon quake led to the first concerted effort at disaster control, modern urban planning, and the birth of seismology. The Last Day is popular history writing at its best and will appeal to readers of Simon Winchester's Krakatoa and A Crack in the Edge of the World.
format_category_englewood Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_englewood Book, eAudiobook
id 73e1b9d5-c387-ade0-899a-6317ce8fe828
isbn 9780670018512, 9781400126408
item_details hoopla:MWT10755846||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10755846||Available Online||||, ils:.b27772585|.i74716633|EPL Non-Fiction|946.942033 SHRADY, NICHOLAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||epnf||
itype_englewood , Adult book
last_indexed 2019-05-24T10:47:46.567Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_englewood 946.942033 SHRADY, NICHOLAS
owning_library_englewood Englewood Public Library
owning_location_englewood Englewood Public Library
primary_isbn 9780670018512
publishDate 2008
record_details hoopla:MWT10755846|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Tantor Audio ,|2008.|1 online resource (1 audio file (420 min.)) : digital., ils:.b27772585|Book|Books||English|Viking,|2008.|228 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations, maps ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_englewood
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b27772585 .i74716633 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 48, 49, 50, 46, 47
hoopla:MWT10755846 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
subject_facet Lisbon Earthquake, Portugal, 1755
title_display The last day : wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755
title_full The last day : wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755 / Nicholas Shrady, The last day : wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755 [electronic resource] / Nicholas Shrady
title_short The last day :
title_sub wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755
topic_facet Lisbon Earthquake, Portugal, 1755