The last day: wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2008.
Language:
English
Description
A riveting history of how the cataclysmic Lisbon earthquake shook the religious and intellectual foundations of Enlightenment Europe Along with the volcanic destruction of Pompeii and the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, the Lisbon quake of 1755 is one of the most destructive natural disasters ever recorded. After being jolted by a massive quake, Lisbon was then pounded by a succession of tidal waves, and finally reduced to ash by a fire that raged for five straight days. In The Last Day, Nicholas Shrady provides not only a vivid account of this horrific disaster but also a stimulating survey of the many shock waves it sent throughout Western civilization. When news of the quake spread, it inspired both a lurid fascination in the popular imagination of Europe and an intellectual debate about the natural world and Gods place in human affairs. Voltaire, Alexander Pope, Immanuel Kant, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau, among other eminent figures, took up the disaster as a sort of cause clbre and a vehicle to express Enlightenment ideas. More practically, the Lisbon quake led to the first concerted effort at disaster control, modern urban planning, and the birth of seismology. The Last Day is popular history writing at its best and will appeal to readers of Simon Winchesters Krakatoa and A Crack in the Edge of the World,
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780670018512
9781400126408
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID73e1b9d5-c387-ade0-899a-6317ce8fe828
Grouping Titlelast day wrath ruin and reason in the great lisbon earthquake of 1755
Grouping Authorshrady nicholas
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-01-15 20:02:01PM
Last Indexed2020-01-17 03:11:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Lawlor, Patrick G.
authorShrady, Nicholas.
author2-roleLawlor, Patrick G.|Narrator
hoopla digital.
author_displayShrady, Nicholas
available_at_englewoodEnglewood Public Library
detailed_location_englewoodEPL Non-Fiction
display_descriptionA riveting history of how the cataclysmic Lisbon earthquake shook the religious and intellectual foundations of Enlightenment Europe.Along with the volcanic destruction of Pompeii and the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, the Lisbon quake of 1755 is one of the most destructive natural disasters ever recorded. After being jolted by a massive quake, Lisbon was then pounded by a succession of tidal waves and finally reduced to ash by a fire that raged for five straight days. In The Last Day, Nicholas Shrady provides not only a vivid account of this horrific disaster but also a stimulating survey of the many shock waves it sent throughout Western civilization. When news of the quake spread, it inspired both a lurid fascination in the popular imagination of Europe and an intellectual debate about the natural world and God's place in human affairs. Voltaire, Alexander Pope, Immanuel Kant, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau, among other eminent figures, took up the disaster as a sort of cause célèbre and a vehicle to express Enlightenment ideas. More practically, the Lisbon quake led to the first concerted effort at disaster control, modern urban planning, and the birth of seismology. The Last Day is popular history writing at its best and will appeal to readers of Simon Winchester's Krakatoa and A Crack in the Edge of the World.
format_category_englewoodAudio Books
Books
eBook
format_englewoodBook
eAudiobook
id73e1b9d5-c387-ade0-899a-6317ce8fe828
isbn9780670018512
9781400126408
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b27772585.i74716633EPL Non-Fiction946.942033 SHRADY, NICHOLAS1falsefalseOn Shelfepnf
hoopla:MWT10755846Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10755846?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_englewoodAdult book
last_indexed2020-01-17T10:11:21.827Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_englewood946.942033 SHRADY, NICHOLAS
owning_library_englewoodEnglewood Public Library
owning_location_englewoodEnglewood Public Library
primary_isbn9780670018512
publishDate2008
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b27772585BookBooksEnglishViking, 2008.228 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations, maps ; 22 cm.
hoopla:MWT10755846eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishTantor Audio, 2008.1 online resource (1 audio file (420 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_englewood
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b27772585.i74716633On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue48, 49, 50, 46, 47
hoopla:MWT10755846Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetLisbon Earthquake, Portugal, 1755
title_displayThe last day : wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755
title_fullThe last day : wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755 / Nicholas Shrady
The last day : wrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755 [electronic resource] / Nicholas Shrady
title_shortThe last day
title_subwrath, ruin, and reason in the great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755
topic_facetLisbon Earthquake, Portugal, 1755