The whole lie

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Minotaur Books,
Pub. Date:
2012.
Edition:
1st ed.
Language:
English
Description

Praise for The Whole Lie

"The Massachusetts gubernatorial race forms the backdrop for Ulfelder's excellent sequel to his Edgar-finalist debut, Purgatory Chasm... Readers will want to see more of Ulfelder's tough but vulnerable lead, whose narration offers a warts-and-all view of his multifaceted character." - Publishers Weekly , starred review

Savvy hadn't changed. She was smarter than you and didn't mind letting you know it. She'd whip you up and down trying to get her way. But we weren't lovers any more--and she'd stopped being a Barnburner long ago. Still...

Conway Sax, the no-nonsense auto mechanic with a knack for solving difficult problems for the Barnburners, the renegade AA group who saved his life, is back in The Whole Lie . And for once, he thinks normalcy is within reach. He's opening a new garage, and he's finally moved in with longtime girlfriend Charlene. The end of his parole is finally in sight. Then along comes Savannah Kane: smart, smoky, and a pusher of men's buttons. Seven years ago, Conway helped her disappear--but not before they had a sizzling, knock-down-drag-out affair. Now she's back with a shocking revelation: she's the mother of a six-year-old boy. Savvy claims her son's father is billionaire Bert Saginaw, but Conway (not to mention Charlene) knows she's back for more than just a family reunion.

Saginaw wants to be Lieutenant Governor of Massachusetts. Savvy wants to get paid. Conway wants nothing to do with either of them. But when Savvy turns up brutally murdered, he's got no choice but to sort lies from truth - even though doing so may cost him his freedom, his lover, and his life in this thrilling and heart-wrenching follow-up to critically acclaimed novel Purgatory Chasm , in the tradition of Robert B. Parker and Dennis Lehane.

Praise for Steve Ulfelder and Purgatory Chasm

"Ulfelder smoothly steers his plot from one hairpin twist to the next... Conway [is] both tough and vulnerable, a man who has made too many mistakes in his life and, unfortunately, will make even more. Purgatory Chasm is a superb beginning for an author who shows much promise." - South Florida Sun-Sentinel

"A refreshing new character solving hardcore crimes.... crisp plotting, hard-boiled style and realistic dialogue." --Associated Press

"Combines elements of the thriller with tales of tangled families. Violence runs through the novel, but Ulfelder tempers it with compassion -- and evocative prose. Purgatory Chasm may be hardboiled, but it's heart-wrenching, too." - Richmond Times-Dispatch

"Working throughout is the edgy, self-effacing voice of a flawed main character, a good guy with plenty of baggage who's just trying stay alive and to get it right this time." - The Boston Globe

"Ulfelder couples precise, evocative prose with an original private investigator in his compelling hard-boiled debut.... Ulfelder smoothly navigates the many plot twists, and effortlessly introduces wrinkles in his protagonist's backstory that enhance the character." - Publishers Weekly , starred review

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780312604547
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID4ee27e55-7da4-ce35-7a61-0d14b3094462
Grouping Titlewhole lie
Grouping Authorulfelder steve
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-05-21 01:06:27AM
Last Indexed2020-01-20 04:10:43AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorUlfelder, Steve.
author_displayUlfelder, Steve
available_at_englewoodEnglewood Public Library
detailed_location_englewoodEPL Fiction
display_description
format_category_englewoodBooks
format_englewoodBook
id4ee27e55-7da4-ce35-7a61-0d14b3094462
isbn9780312604547
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b37559151.i74994475EPL FictionF ULFELDER1falsefalseOn Shelfepf
itype_englewoodAdult book
last_indexed2020-01-20T11:10:43.977Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_englewoodF ULFELDER
owning_library_englewoodEnglewood Public Library
owning_location_englewoodEnglewood Public Library
primary_isbn9780312604547
publishDate2012
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b37559151BookBooks1st ed.EnglishMinotaur Books, 2012.312 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_englewood
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b37559151.i74994475On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue48, 49, 50, 46, 47
seriesConway Sax novels
series_with_volumeConway Sax novels|2
subject_facetAutomobile mechanics -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
title_displayThe whole lie
title_fullThe whole lie / Steve Ulfelder
title_shortThe whole lie
topic_facetAutomobile mechanics
Investigation
Murder