The American dream: walking in the shoes of carnies, arms dealers, immigrant dreamers, pot farmers, and Christian believers

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Nation Books,
Pub. Date:
[2008]
Language:
English
Description
For some, the American Dream is a pre-fab house in the suburbs with 2.5 kids and a two-week vacation at the end of the year. To others, it is working a push fruit cart in Oakland in order to put food on the family's table in Oaxaca. In The American Dream Harmon Leon draws upon his experiences of adopting personas and disguises to infiltrate the various institutions of everyday life, living among a diverse range of subcultures and learning first hand how they see their vision and utopia. His incursions include working as a marijuana farmer in a hippie commune in Northern California; becoming a carnie in rural Indiana; visiting a tourist attraction in Mexico (that allows people to simulate illegally crossing the border); venturing to Hollywood while trying to climb the ranks in the star-making machine; and working in the strawberries fields of California with newly arrived immigrants. The American Dream is a funny, satirical, and ultimately poignant take on what it means to be an American today.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781568583525
9780786726417
9781283285537
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 44f4681e-3fe9-c2b9-4b2f-2cf51c843374
Grouping Title american dream walking in the shoes of carnies arms dealers immigrant dreamers pot farmers and chris
Grouping Author leon harmon
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-05-01 05:10:45AM
Last Indexed 2019-05-19 04:57:29AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Leon, Harmon.
author_display Leon, Harmon
available_at_englewood Englewood Public Library
detailed_location_englewood EPL Non-Fiction
display_description In the tradition of Hunter S. Thompson and Sacha Baron Cohen, social chameleon Harmon Leon takes us on a journey into the savage heart of the American Dream.
format_category_englewood Books
format_englewood Book
id 44f4681e-3fe9-c2b9-4b2f-2cf51c843374
isbn 9780786726417, 9781283285537, 9781568583525
item_details Ebsco (ASU):ocn311315483|ocn311315483|Ebsco (ASU)|Online Ebsco (ASU)|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Ebsco (ASU)||https://adams.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&scope=site&db=nlebk&AN=258717||Available Online||Ebsco (ASU)||, Ebsco (CCU):ocn311315483|ocn311315483|Ebsco (CCU)|Online Ebsco (CCU)|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Ebsco (CCU)||http://ezproxy.ccu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&scope=site&db=nlebk&AN=258717||Available Online||Ebsco (CCU)||, Ebsco Academic (CMC):ocn311315483|ocn311315483|Ebsco Academic (CMC)|Online Ebsco Academic (CMC)|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Ebsco Academic (CMC)||http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=nlebk&AN=258717&site=ehost-live&scope=site&custid=s8728519||Available Online||Ebsco Academic (CMC)||, Fort Lewis Subscription eBook (EBSCO):ocn311315483|ocn311315483|Fort Lewis Subscription eBook (EBSCO)|Online Fort Lewis Subscription eBook (EBSCO)|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Fort Lewis Subscription eBook (EBSCO)||https://fortlewis.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&scope=site&db=nlebk&AN=258717||Available Online||Fort Lewis Subscription eBook (EBSCO)||, ils:.b28369531|.i74836638|EPL Non-Fiction|306.0973 LEON, HARMON|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||epnf||
itype_englewood Adult book
last_indexed 2019-05-19T10:57:29.144Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_englewood 306.0973 LEON, HARMON
owning_library_englewood Englewood Public Library
owning_location_englewood Englewood Public Library
primary_isbn 9781568583525
publishDate 2008
record_details Ebsco (ASU):ocn311315483|eBook|eBook||English|Nation Books,|©2008.|1 online resource (xi, 287 pages), Ebsco (CCU):ocn311315483|eBook|eBook||English|Nation Books,|©2008.|1 online resource (xi, 287 pages), Ebsco Academic (CMC):ocn311315483|eBook|eBook||English|Nation Books,|©2008.|1 online resource (xi, 287 pages), Fort Lewis Subscription eBook (EBSCO):ocn311315483|eBook|eBook||English|Nation Books,|?2008.|1 online resource (xi, 287 pages), ils:.b28369531|Book|Books||English|Nation Books,|[2008]|xi, 287 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_englewood
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b28369531 .i74836638 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 48, 49, 50, 46, 47
subject_facet , Civilization, Electronic books, POLITICAL SCIENCE -- Public Policy -- Cultural Policy, Popular culture, Popular culture -- United States, SOCIAL SCIENCE -- Anthropology -- Cultural, SOCIAL SCIENCE -- Popular Culture, Social Science, Social conditions, United States, United States -- Civilization -- 1970-, United States -- Social conditions -- 1980-
title_display The American dream : walking in the shoes of carnies, arms dealers, immigrant dreamers, pot farmers, and Christian believers
title_full The American dream : walking in the shoes of carnies, arms dealers, immigrant dreamers, pot farmers, and Christian believers / Harmon Leon
title_short The American dream :
title_sub walking in the shoes of carnies, arms dealers, immigrant dreamers, pot farmers, and Christian believers
topic_facet Anthropology, Civilization, Cultural, Cultural Policy, POLITICAL SCIENCE, Popular Culture, Popular culture, Public Policy, SOCIAL SCIENCE, Social Science, Social conditions