The royal nonesuch: in which the author, a failure at literature, fails likewise at pornography, founds a corporate branding consultancy and a new media empire

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Glasgow Phillips published his debut novel Tuscaloosa at the tender age of twenty-four. The results were disastrous: encouraging reviews, translations, a paperback sale, a film option, and a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford. But over the next two years, as Phillips's second novel unraveled and freelance journalism assignments ended in humiliation, a horrible, secret thought took hold in him: perhaps, just possibly, whatever talent he had was of the kind that would never be more than promise. Washed up as a "real" writer before he was thirty, Phillips went to Los Angeles and formed a company with his best childhood friend Jason McHugh, independent producer of Cannibal! The Musical and Orgazmo . The Royal Nonesuch is the story of Phillips's rollercoaster ride through the twisted world of underground Hollywood and the funhouse of the Internet during the boom. Phillips builds a hilarious and poignant memoir, in the tradition of Augusten Burroughs and Sean Wilsey, from tales of promise and failure, family and madness, friendship and redemption, fame and infamy, and good old-fashioned hustling. It is a remarkable book; a brilliant portrait of a generation in all its foolish glory.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780802170286
155584720
9781555847203
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 37ab5fe9-2f05-2096-58b0-a65d7fa15601
Grouping Title royal nonesuch in which the author a failure at literature fails likewise at pornography founds a co
Grouping Author phillips w glasgow
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-05-17 20:02:01PM
Last Indexed 2019-05-20 04:35:24AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Phillips, W. Glasgow, 1969-
author2-role hoopla digital.
author_display Phillips, W. Glasgow
available_at_englewood Englewood Public Library
detailed_location_englewood EPL Non-Fiction
display_description Glasgow Phillips published his debut novel Tuscaloosa at the tender age of twenty-four. The results were disastrous: encouraging reviews, translations, a paperback sale, a film option, and a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford. But over the next two years, as Phillips's second novel unraveled and freelance journalism assignments ended in humiliation, a horrible, secret thought took hold in him: perhaps, just possibly, whatever talent he had was of the kind that would never be more than promise. Washed up as a "real" writer before he was thirty, Phillips went to Los Angeles and formed a company with his best childhood friend Jason McHugh, independent producer of Cannibal! The Musical and Orgazmo. The Royal Nonesuch is the story of Phillips's rollercoaster ride through the twisted world of underground Hollywood and the funhouse of the Internet during the boom. Phillips builds a hilarious and poignant memoir, in the tradition of Augusten Burroughs and Sean Wilsey, from tales of promise and failure, family and madness, friendship and redemption, fame and infamy, and good old-fashioned hustling. It is a remarkable book; a brilliant portrait of a generation in all its foolish glory.
format_category_englewood Books, eBook
format_englewood Book, eBook
id 37ab5fe9-2f05-2096-58b0-a65d7fa15601
isbn 155584720, 9780802170286, 9781555847203
item_details hoopla:MWT12211813||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12211813||Available Online||||, ils:.b27053398|.i74660871|EPL Non-Fiction|813.54 PHILLIPS, GLASGOW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||epnf||
itype_englewood , Adult book
last_indexed 2019-05-20T10:35:24.27Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_englewood 813.54 PHILLIPS, GLASGOW
owning_library_englewood Englewood Public Library
owning_location_englewood Englewood Public Library
primary_isbn 9780802170286
publishDate 2007
record_details hoopla:MWT12211813|eBook|eBook||English|Grove/Atlantic, Inc.,|2007.|1 online resource, ils:.b27053398|Book|Books||English|Black Cat :|[2007]|ix, 374 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_englewood
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12211813 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
ils:.b27053398 .i74660871 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 48, 49, 50, 46, 47
subject_facet Authors, American -- 20th century -- Biography, Autobiographies, Biographies, Electronic books, Hollywood (Los Angeles, Calif.) -- Biography, Motion picture industry -- United States, Motion picture producers and directors -- United States -- Biography, Phillips, W. Glasgow, -- 1969-, Screenwriters -- United States -- Biography
title_display The royal nonesuch : in which the author, a failure at literature, fails likewise at pornography, founds a corporate branding consultancy and a new media empire
title_full The royal nonesuch : in which the author, a failure at literature, fails likewise at pornography, founds a corporate branding consultancy and a new media empire . [electronic resource] / glasgow Phillips, The royal nonesuch : in which the author, a failure at literature, fails likewise at pornography, founds a corporate branding consultancy and a new media empire ... / Glasgow Phillips
title_short The royal nonesuch :
title_sub in which the author, a failure at literature, fails likewise at pornography, founds a corporate branding consultancy and a new media empire
topic_facet Authors, American, Electronic books, Motion picture industry, Motion picture producers and directors, Phillips, W. Glasgow, Screenwriters