The royal nonesuch: in which the author, a failure at literature, fails likewise at pornography, founds a corporate branding consultancy and a new media empire

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Glasgow Phillips published his debut novel Tuscaloosa at the tender age of twenty-four. The results were disastrous: encouraging reviews, translations, a paperback sale, a film option, and a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford. But over the next two years, as Phillips's second novel unraveled and freelance journalism assignments ended in humiliation, a horrible, secret thought took hold in him: perhaps, just possibly, whatever talent he had was of the kind that would never be more than promise. Washed up as a "real" writer before he was thirty, Phillips went to Los Angeles and formed a company with his best childhood friend Jason McHugh, independent producer of Cannibal! The Musical and Orgazmo . The Royal Nonesuch is the story of Phillips's rollercoaster ride through the twisted world of underground Hollywood and the funhouse of the Internet during the boom. Phillips builds a hilarious and poignant memoir, in the tradition of Augusten Burroughs and Sean Wilsey, from tales of promise and failure, family and madness, friendship and redemption, fame and infamy, and good old-fashioned hustling. It is a remarkable book; a brilliant portrait of a generation in all its foolish glory.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780802170286
9781555847203
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID37ab5fe9-2f05-2096-58b0-a65d7fa15601
Grouping Titleroyal nonesuch in which the author a failure at literature fails likewise at pornography founds a co
Grouping Authorphillips w glasgow
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-01-20 20:02:01PM
Last Indexed2020-01-22 04:00:43AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorPhillips, W. Glasgow, 1969-
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayPhillips, W. Glasgow
available_at_englewoodEnglewood Public Library
detailed_location_englewoodEPL Non-Fiction
display_descriptionGlasgow Phillips published his debut novel Tuscaloosa at the tender age of twenty-four. The results were disastrous: encouraging reviews, translations, a paperback sale, a film option, and a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford. But over the next two years, as Phillips's second novel unraveled and freelance journalism assignments ended in humiliation, a horrible, secret thought took hold in him: perhaps, just possibly, whatever talent he had was of the kind that would never be more than promise. Washed up as a "real" writer before he was thirty, Phillips went to Los Angeles and formed a company with his best childhood friend Jason McHugh, independent producer of Cannibal! The Musical and Orgazmo. The Royal Nonesuch is the story of Phillips's rollercoaster ride through the twisted world of underground Hollywood and the funhouse of the Internet during the boom. Phillips builds a hilarious and poignant memoir, in the tradition of Augusten Burroughs and Sean Wilsey, from tales of promise and failure, family and madness, friendship and redemption, fame and infamy, and good old-fashioned hustling. It is a remarkable book; a brilliant portrait of a generation in all its foolish glory.
format_category_englewoodBooks
eBook
format_englewoodBook
eBook
id37ab5fe9-2f05-2096-58b0-a65d7fa15601
isbn9780802170286
9781555847203
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT12211813Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12211813Available Online
ils:.b27053398.i74660871EPL Non-Fiction813.54 PHILLIPS, GLASGOW1falsefalseOn Shelfepnf
itype_englewoodAdult book
last_indexed2020-01-22T11:00:43.072Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_englewood813.54 PHILLIPS, GLASGOW
owning_library_englewoodEnglewood Public Library
owning_location_englewoodEnglewood Public Library
primary_isbn9780802170286
publishDate2007
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT12211813eBookeBookEnglishGrove/Atlantic, Inc., 2007.1 online resource
ils:.b27053398BookBooksEnglishBlack Cat :[2007]ix, 374 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_englewood
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12211813Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b27053398.i74660871On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue48, 49, 50, 46, 47
subject_facetAuthors, American -- 20th century -- Biography
Autobiographies
Biographies
Electronic books
Hollywood (Los Angeles, Calif.) -- Biography
Motion picture industry -- United States
Motion picture producers and directors -- United States -- Biography
Phillips, W. Glasgow, -- 1969-
Screenwriters -- United States -- Biography
title_displayThe royal nonesuch : in which the author, a failure at literature, fails likewise at pornography, founds a corporate branding consultancy and a new media empire
title_fullThe royal nonesuch : in which the author, a failure at literature, fails likewise at pornography, founds a corporate branding consultancy and a new media empire . [electronic resource] / glasgow Phillips
The royal nonesuch : in which the author, a failure at literature, fails likewise at pornography, founds a corporate branding consultancy and a new media empire ... / Glasgow Phillips
title_shortThe royal nonesuch
title_subin which the author, a failure at literature, fails likewise at pornography, founds a corporate branding consultancy and a new media empire
topic_facetAuthors, American
Electronic books
Motion picture industry
Motion picture producers and directors
Phillips, W. Glasgow
Screenwriters